The American Welding Society Foundation awards over $2 million annually for education and training in welding and related fields!

Students in the Portland Section may be eligible for the following scholarships:

National, District, and Section Scholarships – Deadline March 1st for the following fall term

 National Scholarships
For students pursuing a specific degree at an accredited two-year or four-year college or university. Scholarships range from $3,000 – $5,000+.

 District Scholarships
A minimum of $15,000 is available in each of AWS’s 22 Districts for students pursuing a degree or certificate in a welding or welding-related program. Scholarships typically range from $1,000 to $2,500+.

Section and District Named Scholarships

Jerry Hope Memorial  Scholarship

Greater Oregon Section Scholarship 

Greater Oregon WISH CWI Scholarship

The Greater Oregon Section of the AWS is pleased to announce the Greater Oregon Section Welding Inspection Scholarship Help (WISH). The WISH program is to help new inspectors enter the field or to further the education and certification of inspectors already in the field. It is the goal of the Greater Oregon Section to use WISH to help train and certify the best and brightest inspectors. Greater Oregon hopes that by granting the candidate’s WISH, we can not only give them the funds needed for training and certification but to provide them with a growing group of mentors, possessors of a vast array of knowledge and experience. If you are new to the field or expanding your certification profile join us, you never know when a WISH might come true.

Recipients will be awarded half of their test fees up to a maximum of $500 per candidate per year.

Welder Training Scholarship
For students seeking welder training in a certificate program less than two years in length through a trade school, community college, or other facility providing welder training. Each District has a minimum of 25 – $1,000 scholarships to award. Applications are accepted January-November and selections are made on a rolling basis until the District awards the designated funds for the year.


                              Apply for AWS Foundation Scholarships at