The American Welding Society Foundation awards over $2 million annually for education and training in welding and related fields!

Students in the Fox Valley Section may be eligible for the following scholarships:

National, District, and Section Scholarships – Deadline March 1st for the following fall term

 National Scholarships
For students pursuing a specific degree at an accredited two-year or four-year college or university. Scholarships range from $3,000 – $5,000+.

 District Scholarships
A minimum of $15,000 is available in each of AWS’s 22 Districts for students pursuing a degree or certificate in a welding or welding-related program. Scholarships typically range from $1,000 to $2,500+.

 Section Named Scholarships                          

Fox Valley Section

Ted B. Jefferson Memorial Scholarship (District 12)

In 1943, Ted Jefferson, then a principal of the Welding Engineer Publishing Company, revised the Welding Encyclopedia for the first time. He edited and published the 11th through 17th editions over a period of 33 years. Ted Jefferson died on July 6, 1988, at the age of eighty.

In honor of Ted Jefferson’s long association and dedication to the Welding Encyclopedia, the American Welding Society renamed the book Jefferson’s Welding Encyclopedia in 1976.

Welder Training Scholarship
For students seeking welder training in a certificate program less than two years in length through a trade school, community college, or other facility providing welder training. Each District has a minimum of 25 – $1,000 scholarships to award. Applications are accepted January-November and selections are made on a rolling basis until the District awards the designated funds for the year.

                                   Apply for AWS Foundation Scholarships at