

August 13, 2024

Congratulations to the Detroit Section 2024 – 2025 Scholarship Winners:

This year the AWS Detroit Section has awarded **37** welding scholarships totaling **\$64,000**. These scholarships are made available to Michigan residents and/or students enrolled in a welding or welding related programs at a college or university in the State of Michigan, and the following counties in the province of Ontario; Essex, Chatham-Kent, and Sarnia-Lambton. The candidates all submitted an application, including transcripts of their academic achievement, a brief letter about their background, their goals and ambitions, and any additional factors that would help the Section Scholarship Committee determine eligibility for an award.

The 37 recipients of the 2024 - 2025 Scholarships will be attending

- Conestoga College
- Ferris State University
- Macomb Community College
- North American Trade School London
- Oakland University
- Schoolcraft Community College
- Wayne State University

The scholarship recipients are all invited to attend our September Technical Meeting as a guest of the Detroit Section so that they may receive recognition of these awards (an RSVP is requested).

2024 - 2025 American Welding Society-Detroit Section Scholarship Winners

AWS-Detroit Section, District 11 Fred Ellicott Scholarship for Arc Welding Connor Gibbs, Ferris State University

AWS-Detroit Section, District 11 Dietrich Roth Scholarship for Resistance Welding Ahmad Mohammed, Wayne State University

The Amos and Marilyn Winsand Scholarship, funded by the AWS Foundation Krista Wallace, Wayne State University

The Robert P. and Mardell D. Wilcox Scholarship, funded by the AWS Foundation Brendan LeTissier, Ferris State University

The Mardell D. Wilcox Scholarship, funded by the AWS Foundation Lonny Hottum, Schoolcraft Community College

> The Robert L. Wilcox Scholarship Lonny Hottum, Schoolcraft Community College

> > The James W. Mitchell Scholarship

Brendan LeTissier, Ferris State University

AWS-Detroit Section Awardees

Jaron Baker - Ferris State University Ryan Diestler - Ferris State University Nolan Dooley - Schoolcraft College Jessica Duff - Ferris State University Abby Frisk - Ferris State University Tiernan Gallagher - Ferris State University Sophia Gugel - Oakland University Jackson Guillery - Ferris State University Mark Hamilton - Macomb Community College Josh Hamlin - Ferris State University Victoria Hay - Ferris State University Helana Hope - Conestoga College Jessica King - Wayne State University Ryan Konieczny - Ferris State University K. Erich Laird - Ferris State University Travis Lindquist - Ferris State University Devon Macdonald - Ferris State University Gerardo Marcial-Matias - Ferris State University Abigail Markel - Ferris State University Ian McArthur - Ferris State University

C:\Users\dmaatz\Documents\AWS-Detroit\AWS Scholarship\2024-2025 AWS Scholarships\2024-25 AWS-Detroit Scholarship Awardees.doc
Page 1 of 2



Matthew McLaughlin - North American Trade School -London Ahmad Mohammed - Wayne State University Laura Palaske - Ferris State University Millie Peach - Ferris State University Jordan Pearsall - Wayne State University Jesse Pequeno - Wayne State University Logan Pethers - Ferris State University Benjamin Saline - Ferris State University Parker Sargent - Ferris State University Cameron Scharboneau - Wayne State University Donovan Stein - Ferris State University Amalia Towns - Ferris State University Trevor Townson - Ferris State University Ella Wanke - Ferris State University

Congratulations to all awardees! The scholarship process for the 2025-2026 school year will begin in December 2024.

Junt And

Donald F. Maatz, Jr., Section Scholarship Chairman